Know Thyself (ΓΝΩΘΙ ΣΑΥΤΟΝ)

Excerpt from Everything Men Know About Women

An open journal Image by dailyinvention via Flickr

I began blogging on a blog hosted by Mystic Wicks, but there have been a series of technical problems which has motivated me to seek another place to write. Further, I’m aware that WordPress offers more features than other sources, so I am moving everything here (with some editing and refocusing), and am starting anew.

Long-term projects are challenging for me, even with continued interest. My husband teases me, saying that whenever I complain about not having enough time, I start another project. He points out that I like to have short-term tasks that I can cross off my list. But I feel a need to give my religious reflections and observations a home, and to make them available to others who may benefit from them. The challenge will be posting regularly, and often enough to be of interest and use to others.

Also, we’re in the process of moving out of our apartment. So it’s not the best time to start up a domain or sub-domain. I need something easy, and free.

So if I sustain this blog, post regularly, and gain a readership, I may move to a sub-domain hosted by Ruadhan (a very generous offer) which would offer a lot of advantages.

For now, I will leave you with this:

One of the most important Delphic Maxims is this, in my opinion: Know Thyself (ΓΝΩΘΙ ΣΑΥΤΟΝ).

To know oneself was to know what one could and could not do; it was to be constrained by the fact that one was human and not divine (and should not therefore attempt to challenge the gods . . . ); it was to realize that as a human being one had certain capacities, but not others. To do nothing in excess was part of the same picture. – JACT, pp.146-147. (Emphasis as in original.)

Discuss!

